Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

You are here

Brochure Brochure


The 4th Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation: Call for Submissions

Partial Date: 2018CE Jul 31st to 2018CE Aug 31st
Document Category: Call for Awards, Innovation Awards

The year 2018 begins with the launch of the 4th Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation (Guangzhou Award), a platform for the sharing and exchange of successful innovative practices. The Guangzhou Award supports the implementation of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and New Urban Agenda (NUA), contributing to the creation of inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable cities and human settlements.

We would like to invite you to join us if your city or region is putting in place any initiatives under the themes highlighted by the SDGs (especially SDG 11) and NUA. For NUA, special focus is being placed on urban planning and design, financing urban development, as well as access to affordable housing, infrastructure, and services.

The Guangzhou Award is co-sponsored by United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG), World Association of the Major Metropolises (Metropolis), and City of Guangzhou. The award aims to recognize innovation in improving social, economic and environmental sustainability in cities and regions and, in so doing, to advance the prosperity and quality of life of their citizens.

The Guangzhou Award is open to all cities and regions worldwide, including members of UCLG, Metropolis, and ICLEI.

Submissions shall be made online and in accordance with the criteria and rules stipulated in the Rules and Procedures as well as Submission Guidelines of the 4th Guangzhou Award. For a large integrated initiative, please consider submitting up to three initiatives under the same title.

Kindly Note: The date for Registration and Submission has now been extended to 31st August 2018.